Auto insurance is mandated by California, but it provides only basic financial protection if you (or another driver using your car) causes an accident that hurts someone or damages someone else’s property. Clients often are told by insurance agents or brokers that they have purchased “full coverage,” only to find out after an accident that it is not what they expected. Minimum coverage is all that is required by California, but that it is not what I would call “full coverage.” Why? Because the state-required minimum may not cover the cost of a serious accident.
In California the state-required minimum for auto liability insurance is $15,000 per person for injuries, up to $30,000 per accident, and $5,000 for property damage. These amounts may not be sufficient in the event of a serious accident. In the event these amounts are not enough to fix the damage caused by a serious accident, you will be personally responsible for the rest. For that reason, consider purchasing higher levels of coverage, if you can afford to do so.
California also mandates that auto insurance companies offer you uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage with your policy. However, but the law allows consumers to waive UM/UIM coverage and many people do so to bring down the cost of insurance. I explain to my clients that liability insurance protects everyone else on the road but you, but UM/UIM protects you from others on the road who either are driving with no insurance or without enough insurance to cover your injuries and damages in the event of a serious accident. If a client is seriously hurt by a driver who either has no auto insurance or has a minimum policy, the client’s own UM/UIM coverage often makes the difference between getting my client fairr compensation for her injury and not. For that reason, I tell my clients do not waive UM/UIM coverage.
There are other optional coverages that the law does not require, but that might be helpful in the event of a serious accident including: